krotwines.blogg.se

Omnifocus 3 changes
Omnifocus 3 changes





omnifocus 3 changes

In fact I can't really think of anything Things 3 does that you can't accomplish in OmniFocus, but I still chose Things 3 because it's minimal approach was ultimately more joyful for me.

omnifocus 3 changes

OmniFocus fundamentally does more, and will tickle your fancy if you are obsessive and data-minded about task states, having nested project hierarchies, multiple varieties of date-related metadata (deferral, due, start on, duration), customizable "perspectives" that show items based on arbitrary filter criteria, and all kinds of other detailed features. I evaluated both, using each one seriously for most of a week, and then chose Things 3, to my surprise (I tend to be obsessive about wanting "all the features," but have recently begun to lighten up.) Personally, I found that it was more pleasant to use and fostered the right kind of mindset for me, and had "just enough" complexity to do the things I needed. IMO You really should try both and see which one fits your style better. OmniFocus is a "power user" tool with lots of detailed features, a steeper learning curve, and one you can really geek out with if that suits your fancy. TL DR: Things 3 is minimalist, beautiful, and "just enough" to do GTD with a sense of ease and focus. In Things, setting the ‘When’ date means it will show up in the Today view on that day but in a lot of cases, it’s not that I necessarily want to schedule it for that day but that I can’t even consider, and so don't want to see it, before then. The one feature I do miss from OF is the Review mode, which lets you easily review all of your projects periodically and check them off once they’re done.Įdit: another comment has reminded me that another thing I miss from OF is that defer dates don’t imply necessarily starting on a particular day, simply that they’re available from that day.

omnifocus 3 changes

Similarly, having geofenced tags is nice in theory but in practice I can just look at the tag for a specific location. If that happens I think it tends to be because I’m overthinking the problem and focusing on the technical side rather than what I actually need to do. Things like Custom Perspectives are… nice in theory, but really it’s rare for me to find that I absolutely need some view that I can’t reproduce in Things. (Until a fairly recent release, this also led to buggy behaviour when moving between time zones.) OF is a good app that works for a lot of people but it's not right for me.įor me, I find that OF allows a level of precision I don’t really need and that just winds up getting in the way e.g., I don’t need to set a start and end time for almost any task, just a date, yet every task in OF has both. I’ve tried out OmniFocus 3 a couple of times since then but always stuck with Things. I used OmniFocus (2) for a couple of years then switched to Things a couple of years back.







Omnifocus 3 changes